2016 Christmas Decorations

It’s December 31st, and very uncharacteristically for us, the Christmas decorations have already started coming down. I am a big believer that the decorations should stay up until the twelfth night (i.e. The 12 days of Christmas). Unfortunately though, that usually turns into the 12th week after Christmas. We are having work done on the house starting January 2nd so really getting the decorations down is much more of a priority this season.

We have a big open house on Christmas Eve so decorating is a serious deal. I grew up always having a fake tree. My husband would never permit that. He also loves bringing nature inside so we always decorate with natural roping and boughs. Yes, it does make a mess but it is so pretty and smells great.

We are huge enthusiasts of the Charlie Brown approach to tree selection. We cut a tree at a tree farm. We are always looking for a large, untrimmed tree. Why buy a real tree if it looks like a Lego? The past several years we have ended up with cedars. I always just let the tree speak to me. Usually they just say “Oh hai!”I made all the stockings. My mom’s old stocking is missing so she got a new one this year. Kim stayed with us last year but didn’t have her own personalized stocking so hers is new this year too. Slothy Claws visited us in his sleigh. It took him a really long time to fill the stockings which is why he was still with us Christmas morning. Mine and Brownlee’s stocking need an update. I was really into kitschy Elvis when I made mine but I’m not so much anyone. These stocking can go to the old stocking graveyard with the one for my old cat Pixie who has since passed on. My Uncle Ronnie did the painting in the background. It hung in my grandparents house when I was little. I called it the bottle men painting. Other decorated spots around the house…  Do you like our fire?

  
  

We had to break into our bedroom right before Christmas. The old latch had slipped and despite our best efforts, we just had to hulk it. This was my rig to keep the door closed during the open house.  Finally, in honor of this brilliant post from Vintage Everyday, here I am in my Wizard Robes posing next to the tree on Christmas morning.

Leave a Reply

