Makeup Review: Wicked as They Come Eyeshadows by Sweet Libertine Mineral Cosmetics

I’m kind of a makeup savant. I love trying new colors and products. I’m not afraid to try bold looks. But I only sort of know what I’m doing. I’ve never used mineral shadows before and that’s going to show in this makeup review. At least you know what to expect if you’re new at this because I am!

Sweet Libertine Mineral Cosmetics has just released an eyeshadow collection based on Delilah S. Dawson’s novel Wicked as They Come. The twelve colors all reference the popular Steampunk tinged paranormal romance that started The Blud SeriesThemed makeup collections are nothing new to Sweet Libertine. They currently have collections based on Firefly and My Little Pony, among others.

img_1312

L to R: Sexy Mr. Darcy, Tsarina’s Kiss, Madam Morpho, Magic Dust, Tightrope Girl

img_1311

L to R: Clockwork Monkey, Daggerman, Conjure Me, Vampy Witch-Queen, Can-Can Dancer of the Damned, Urobouros, Bludbunny

I did all my swatches mostly dry (my brushes got a little damp at times when I cleaned them between colors) and the photo was taken outside in natural light. I was immediately drawn to the paler colors like Daggerman and Magic Dust.  The super bright gold of Urobouros also sang out to me. I love the color of Tightrope Girl but I find it very hard to wear colors like that without looking consumptive. I tend to have trouble figuring out how to use black shadows so those didn’t thrill me. I’ve also been on the hunt for a frosty blue and Madam Morpho is right in the department I’ve been looking for.

img_1326

Here I am in my base makeup. I’ve just had my period so my skin hasn’t completely recovered from that fun. I’m wearing my standard NARS powder foundation, NARS Orgasm blush, Benefit Browzings, Benefit Boi-ing Concealer and Nature Republic Mascara. The lighting is just the standard light in my hall bathroom.

I decided to try a look with Urobouros, Madam Morpho, and Daggerman. I used Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer before starting. I used all shadows dry. I also used Urobouros on my waterline and went over my eyebrows with Bludbunny. I ended up with a very high drama look. Once the shadows were on they tended to stay in place but I had a ton of fallout. Not being very skilled with mineral shadows I put too much product on my brush initially. Yes, I know my mascara looks terrible and clumpy. I’m not sold on this mascara.

img_1333

In that light and next to the blue of Madam Morpho, Urobouros tended to shift a bit green. I really like the effects I got but I think I would really need to practice a lot to do anything subtle with these shadows. I often put my eye makeup on last. I would not recommend this as you learn to use these shadows. I had a ton of cleanup to do.

img_1327

Considering that though, I think these shadows would be pretty amazing for fantasy looks. I think my mess has its own kind of sloppy glamrock appeal.

I’d certainly consider getting full sizes of Urobouros and Daggerman. Sweet Libertine’s Halloween sale ends tonight (October 16th) so I guess I should get on that!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

