So I’ve been reading…

I’ve been making it a priority to read more books. I’d really let my reading slack off for several years. I was either busy sewing, knitting or noodling around on the internet. Also, the transition from reading physical books to ebooks was happening at my house. I’d often read books that had already been read and were lying around. With less new books lying around, I’ve had less at hand to read.

My goal is just to read more than I was. I don’t care about lofty quality or literary heritage but if some classic struck my fancy, all the better. Comic books and graphic novels also fill the bill. I don’t have the patience to follow something one issue at a time but anthologies are fine by me.

Here’s what I’ve read recently. I’m not going to go into details about the plots. You can look all that up yourself. No spoilers to make you worry either!

The Supernatural Enhancements by Edgar Cantero

I really liked the concept behind this book. It had an intriguing premise and I was genuinely interested in unravelling the book’s mystery, if a little annoyed sometimes at how it was written. Ultimately, it was kind of unfulfilling and the ending was a bit lackluster. I could see the possibility of a sequel as the ending revelation was one of the most interesting parts of book. Mildly diverting.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

I really expected to love this book. I really expected to at least like this book. I really didn’t. It reads fast and has its moments. The photographs are a nice touch but as a bunch of prose is spent on describing them, it seems a little pointless. Also, the central romance was kind of gross. I feel like so much of this story is a retread and recast of Harry Potter, Twilight, Divergent, etc. aka any story with a “special” outsider. Also, at times, it’s just badly written. Apparently there are two sequels which I won’t be reading. I know people loved this book soooo much but it didn’t do it for me at all.

Stills and a trailer from the upcoming Tim Burton film adaptation have just surfaced. I might see the film because the art direction and Eva Green as Miss Peregrine look awesome. I hope they improve on the book.

 

Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

This book had been sitting on my shelf for a really long time. I picked it up from one of those tables at Barnes and Noble or maybe even Borders (RIP). The only other Margaret Atwood I’ve read is The Handmaid’s Tale, which was also excellent even though it scared (and continues to scare, considering the state of the USA) me. Oryx and Crake is great. Atwood is a masterful writer and she captures emotion and sense of place so well. Oryx and Crake also deals with dystopia and the aftermath of worldwide calamity but in a much different way and setting than The Handmaid’s Tale. I liked all the characters and could empathize with each of them in certain ways. I found the ending of the book unsatisfying though. Luckily, as I was looking up links for this post, I discovered that the book is the first of a trilogy. As far as I can tell, I might get my satisfaction by reading the other books, The Year of The Flood and MaddAddamCool with me.

The Sandman Anthologies

I never read Neil Gaiman’s seminal series at the time of publication. Currently, I’m on Volume 6, Fables and Reflections. I’ve been educated about Emperor Norton. I only knew him as a record label. While I am enjoying reading the anthologies, I certainly have enjoyed some more than others. I can’t put my finger on exactly why but finally reading Sandman is simultaneously giving me the impression that it’s both as great as its reputation and that it wasn’t a big deal that I ignored it the first go round. I don’t know??? Planning on finishing the run eventually.

So what’s next, you ask? On a Pale Horse by Piers AnthonyI never read the Incarnations of Immortality as a teen. Instead I read the somewhat terrible but in an awesome way Bio of a Space Tyrant. I’ll have to see how I fare with On a Pale Horse before I decide to read the rest of the series. I was working on re-reading Bio of a Space Tyrant and I just don’t know if I can manage to re-read all of those even for the nostalgic entertainment value. I also have the first volume of SagaFriends with disparate taste have all praised Saga so I figured I’d give it a shot.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

